The Arms of the Kings of Leon

Roll of the Kings of Leon

These are the dates for their reign, beginning to end. There are some cases where the end of the reign was not the end of their life, so I give the death date if I know it. I have tried to give some indication (where I can) of how they died (or ended their reign.)
ab. = abdicated,  kib. = killed in battle, as. = assassinated, ex. = executed, dep = deposed

Garcia I 910-914
Ordoņo II 914-924
Fruela II (the Leperous) 924-925 Also King of Asturias and Galacia
Sancho 925-926 Dies in 929 My source cites him as 'titular' King of Leon
Alfonso (the Monk) 926-931 ab
Ramiro II 931-951
Ordoņo III 951-956
Sancho I (the Fat) 956-958 dep Murdered in 966
Ordoņo IV (the Bad) 958-959 dep Died 962
Elvira 966-975 Regent of Leon, for Ramiro III, it appears. Dies in 986
Ramiro III 966-985
Vermundo II (the Gouty) 985-999
Alfonso V 999-1028 as
Vermundo III 1028-1037 as
Fernando 1038-1065 also Fernando I King of Castile 1029-1065
Sancho II (the Strong) 1065-1072 as
Sancho III 1070-1072 ass. also King of Castile 1066-1072
Alfonso VI 1072-1109 d. also King of Castile. Emperor of Spain
Urraca (Queen) 1109-1126 d. also Queen of Castile 1109-1126
Alfonso VII 1126-1157 d. also King of Castile 1126-1157
Fernando II 1157-1188 d.
Alfonso IX 1188-1230 d.

after which the Crowns of Castile & Leon are combined. See Kings of Castile for further monarchs

More KingsBack to the Rolls of Ruling Nobles Back to the LibraryBack to the Library Back to Main PageBack to Main Page

Web Design and Support

Webbed by Steven Proctor