Roll of the Kings of Mercia

These are the dates for their reign, beginning to end. There are some cases where the end of the reign was not the end of their life, so I give the death date if I know it. I have tried to give some indication (where I can) of how they died (or ended their reign.)
ab. = abdicated,  kib. = killed in battle, as. = assassinated, ex. = executed, dep = deposed

Mercia occupied the midlands of England, below Northumbria and above Wessex.
Creoda 585-593 d.
Pybba 593-606 d.
Ceorl 606-626 d.
Penda 633-655 d.
Wulfhere 657-675 d.
Ethelred 675-704 d.
Coenred 704-709 d.
Ceolred 709-716
Æthelbald 716-757
Offa 757-796
Ecgfrith 796-796
Ceonwulf 796-821
Ceolwulf 821-823
Wiglaf 827-840
Burghred 852-875 dep
Chaos and Confusion 875-879
Æthelred 879-911

Æthelred is the last King of Mercia.

More KingsBack to the Rolls of Ruling Nobles Back to the LibraryBack to the Library Back to Main PageBack to Main Page

Web Design and Support

Webbed by Steven Proctor